Eluvium – False Readings On

False Readings On is the new album from renowned experimental composer, Eluvium. Its creation was originally inspired by themes of cognitive dissonance in modern society. By its conclusion it had become a mirror rather than a magnifying glass, evolving into an hour-long meditation on self-doubt, anxiety, and separation from one’s self. There is an emotional lucidity and melodic ingenuity to Eluvium‘s music that has made him increasingly stand out from the sea of ambient artists that his earlier albums no doubt helped inspire. Sounding like an orchestra ceaselessly performing even as it sinks beneath an ocean of distortions and tape noise – with the occasional operatic voice piercing the surface – False Readings On is assuredly the most daring, dynamic, and distinct album of his luminous career.




1. Strangeworks
2. Fugue State
3. Drowning Tone
4. Regenerative Being
5. Washer Logistics
6. Movie Night Revisited
7. Beyond The Moon For Someone In Reverse
8. False Readings On
9. Rorschach Pavan
10. Individuation
11. Posturing Through Metaphysical Collapse

is it ‘assuredly the most daring, dynamic, and distinct album of his luminous career.’? Well, yes, it probably is because it’s brilliant.

I was in town yesterday and it was the first thing I saw when I walked in, well, the first vinyl album anyway, I had to stroll nonchalantly and with a slight superiority complex past the CD’s first. I’m not proud of it, it just sort of happens. So there it was, I picked it up, I bought it. Not a particularly exciting story but that’s what happened. There are 500 grey vinyl copies but I don’t have one of those, it would have been nice, but I’m happy with what I have.

In order to convey not only how this music sounds, but how it feels, it is necessary to use words such as, Majestic, Sweeping & Vistas, perhaps all together, majestic sweeping vistas, yes, that works. I was happily listening, being carried away on undulating ocean waves, when, during ‘Regenerative Being’ a voice broke through, and it moved me close to tears such was the beauty of it. Even after it is gone it seems to echo there still. It’s a rare moment in music when something resonates with the listener quite as much as this did with me. We have that voice, contemplative piano, stirring strings and it becomes an ocean upon which we are adrift. These components are not unique, but the manner in which they are structured and combined makes them so.

And here it is, do have a listen if you have the time, it’s a wonderful piece of music:

There is still more to come, as the album builds to the final track, the 17-minute epic “Posturing Through Metaphysical Collapse.” It builds and builds, barely noticeable at first but moving forward as though drifting towards a massive waterfall.

For those who like ambient or instrumental music, ‘False Readings On’ really is a triumph.

%d bloggers like this: