This is Johnny Cash

I recently bought a job lot of 30 soundtracks for next to nothing, there were only 4 or 5 that I was actually interested in so I have 25 that will probably never get played, or no more than once anyway. Amongst the 30 was this:

r-6519082-1427069647-8779-jpeg

It’s André Kostelanetz And His Orchestra ‎– Grand Canyon Suite, which is a very good listen actually, but what is rathe rodd about it is over 11 minutes of Johnny Cash explaining how they got the sound effects for the Grand Canyon Suite, about taking mules into the canyon bottom and setting up recording equipment and such like. It’s really rather odd, but I know this, Cash should have read ‘The Gruffalo’, it would have been amazing.

I found the suite, so you can listen to that if you like, the Cash bit isn’t included though, which is a shame:

Found it on Youtube:

I’ll get around to the others another time, this just struck me as rather odd.

5 thoughts on “This is Johnny Cash

  1. I’ll never forget the first time I saw this photograph in the 90s. It captured the most vivd expression of belligerence I’d ever seen. You would not want to be on the receiving end of that finger!! You kids with the internet today can’t imagine how scarce images like this were for most of their existence.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh the days before internet, unless you’ve experienced it I don’t think it can be properly understood. One of my fondest pre-internet memories is the need to actually go to peoples houses to listen to records, those were the days!

    Like

  3. I have bored people to the edge of unconsciousness with how sound should be allowed to travel through the air and interact with objects rather than be right inside the ear. I can see them shutting down as I speak, but I just can’t help myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

